PQA Board Members

Mr. Agha Jan Akhtar (Chairman Board)
Mr. Agha Jan Akhtar  (Chairman Board)

Agha Jan Akhtar is an officer of the Pakistan Administrative Service is serving in Port Qasim Authority in the capacity of Chairman PQA since 2013. The office during short span of time has taken concrete initiatives / measures to impliment the organization mission i.e. to develop Port Qasim into Pakistan's premier port intigrated industrial and commercial facilities. Port Qasim is customer service oriented and a financially healthy organization operating under landlord concept.

Since July, 2013 Port Qasim Authority has taken numerous diversified projects which have been / are being established through private sector investment.

The 1st LNG terminal on Fast Track basis by Engro Elengy Terminal Pakistan Limited (EETPL) was completed in record period of 11 months, with his efforts PQA made all the requisit arrangements to make the terminal and operational and has successfully handled more than 66 vessels, till date, including the Qflex. Today, Pakistan is proud to be a part of this exclusive international LNG landscape and Port Qasim is indeed a part of commitment, in order to meet energy crisis in the country.  

Besides, PIBT-coal and Clinker / Cement Terminal with handling capacity of 8 MT, Coal Terminal at Marginal Wharf 3 & 4 for Sahiwal Powe Plant and 2nd LNG Terminal by PGPL will be operational in 2017 on BOT Basis. PQEP-1320 MW Coal Fired Power Plant with Self-Use Jetty is under construction and will start full operations in June, 2018, the cost of the project is US$ 2.1 Billion. Not only this, the industrial sector in Port Qasim Authority has also tremendously florished.

Rear Admiral Waseem Akram, HI(M), SBt (Member)
Rear Admiral Waseem Akram, HI(M), SBt  (Member)
Mr. Abdul Rauf Alam, President FPCCI, Karachi - (Member)
Mr. Abdul Rauf Alam, President FPCCI, Karachi - (Member)
Mr. Muhammad Zubair Motiwala - (Member)
Mr. Muhammad Zubair Motiwala - (Member)

Mr. Muhammad Zubair Motiwala, Former -Chairman Sindh Board Investment. From July 2611 to October 2013. He was Advisor to Chief Minster Sindh on Investment from January 2009 to July 2011. He was appointed as Special Assistant to Chief Minister Sindh (Minister Status) for affairs relating to business community from zs" September 2012 till 19thMarch 2013.

Mr. Motiwala was elected as the President Karachi Chamber of Commerce & Industry for the period 2000-2001
He was elected President of Pak - Afghan Joint Chamber of Commerce & Industries in March 2012. He was Chairman Sindh Engro Coal Mining Company (SECMC) and Thar Power Company. He is a member of the Board of Private Power & Infrastructure Board (PPIB). He is a prominent industrialist and has played an outstanding role for strengthening the national economy especially for promoting industrialization in the country. He has served the business community in various capacities throughout his illustrious career as one of the leading representatives from the industrial sector.

Having special skills and interests in textile sector, he carries the honor to be elected as the Chairman of All Pakistan Textile Processing Mills Association during the same period. He was nominated as the member of Prime Minister's Committee on Textile and Exports in 1996.

In 1996-97, he was elected as the Chairman of SITE Association of Industry, which is the largest industrial area of Pakistan.

He also served the industrial sector as the Chairman of the Council of Karachi Industrial Associations during 1997-98.

Mr. Musaddaq Zulqarnain (Member)
Mr. Nadeem Babar (Member)
Mr. Babar Badat, Director Transfreight Corp. Pvt. Ltd. - (Member)